School board extends Davis' position through June 30

Following a two-hour executive session, the Huntsville School Board voted on Monday to extend Tammi Davis’ contract as the district’s superintendent through June 30, 2019.

The board first moved Davis, the district’s former assistant superintendent, into the position late this summer following the resignation of then-Superintendent Clint Jones. Jones, who was hired in 2014, left the district for a position at the University of Arkansas.

The board quit accepting applications for the superintendent’s position last month. By the deadline, it had fielded 32 applicants.

“We discussed our superintendent hiring [during the executive session], and with the holidays, we’re not going to be able to interview,” Huntsville School Board President Duane Glenn said following the session.

Glenn then solicited a motion to extend Davis’ contract through June. The motion was made and was approved unanimously.

At the end of the meeting, Davis thanked the board publicly.

“I just want to publicly thank this board for their support of me,” she said. “I think we’ve had a good first semester here working together … as we roll into the next semester, I look forward to good things happening in the district. We have a really good board that supports our kids and our employees, and I’m thankful for that.”

Davis was one of the 33 who submitted their application for consideration of the job on a permanent basis. Other applicants were Justin R. Aseltine, of Plainfield, Ill.; Anna Kristen Bensinger, of Fayetteville; Larry Lloyd Brown, of Marionville, Mo.; Timothy Bullington, of Vilonia; Peggy Allene Burnett, of Hickory Ridge; Nicola Campagna, of Old Lyme, Conn.; Kristin Capezio, of East Bridgewater, Mass.; Danny Ray Decker Jr., of Neosho, Mo.; Dennis Fisher, of Mulberry; Heather Woodruff Greenfield, of Huntsville; Bruce Guthrie, of Des Arc; Toni Hopkins, of Paris, Ark.; Dudley Andrew Hume, of White Hall; Franklin J. Janaskie Jr., of Hot Springs; Michael Mitchell, of Kirksville, Mo.; Charnels Lynn Powell, of Piggott; Bryan Alan Pruitt, of Harrison; Christopher R. Quinn, of Stafford, Va.; Jimmy Bruce Ray, of Alma; M. Louis Robinson III, of New York, N.Y.; Shelia Samuels, of Wesley; Marc A. Sherrell, of Lonoke; Elizabeth J. Shumate, of Vilonia; Howard C. Smith II, of Wynne; William Tietz, of White Hall; Don Patrick Travis, of Hot Springs; Farla Steele-Treat, of Fayetteville; Lewis Villines, of Rogers; Brandi Wallace, of Black Oack; Steven Lee Watkins, of Wesley; Mary Wells, of Chicago, Ill.; and Kristin Wolfkill, of Garland, Texas.

Glenn said on Tuesday that the board will consider a handful of applicants for the interview process. If the board decides against hiring anyone from the current pool of applicants, the board may elect to open the hiring process again in the spring, he said.

In other business at Monday’s meeting:

• The board approved the resignation of custodian Calance Griffith.

• The board approved the following hires: Angie Johnson, Food Service; Elias Zepeda, Transportation; Anna Chappell, HHS Spanish teacher; and Ricky Scott, St. Paul special education teacher.

• The board approved the transfer of Brenda Copeland from Food Service to Custodial.

The Huntsville School Board will meet next at 7 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 14.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.