The filing period for those seeking public office in the 2020 elections ended at noon on Tuesday.

According to Madison County Clerk Tamitha Blocker, the Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 3, with the General Election set for Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Candidates for city positions in the General Election will file on July 29.

Those running for federal offices, such as U.S. Senate, U.S. House and the presidency, along with Arkansas Supreme Court and circuit judge spots, will file with the Secretary of State’s office.

As of noon on Tuesday, the following had filed at the County Clerk’s Office:

• Republican Jason Villines, Constable North Township

• Republican Wes Walters, Constable South Township

• Democrat Jack E. Hudgins, incumbent, quorum court District 1

• Republican T.W. Dotson, incumbent, and Democrat Will Anderson, quorum court District 2

• Democrat Sherri Cozad, quorum court District 3

• Democrat Pattie Shinn, incumbent, quorum court District 4

• Democrat Travis Dotson and Republican Wendy Peltz, quorum court District 5

• Republican Luke Dotson and Democrat incumbent T.J. McCollough, quorum court District 6

• Republican Larry D. Garrett, incumbent, quorum court District 7.

• Democrat incumbent Devin Glenn, quorum court, District 8

• Republican incumbent Matt Cleaver and Democrat Brandi McConnell-Solorzano, quorum court District 9.

• Huntsville School Board of Directors, Zone 7, incumbent Janeal Yancey.

One new position to be decided is circuit judge, District 4, Division 8, which currently has Mieka Hatcher, Brian Hogue, Diane Warren and Tim Snively as candidates.

Unopposed election spots will be on the November ballot, while contested races within parties will be in March.

If runoffs from the Primary Election are needed, they will be held in November.

Also in March could be the issue of a first-time sales tax in the town of St. Paul.

A new state representative for District 82, which includes a part of Madison County, will be chosen. Incumbent Sarah Capp of Ozark has announced she will not seek reelection.

Republican Mark Berry of Ozark and Democrat Gwen Ford Faulkenberry have filed to seek the office.

Suzie Bell, a Democrat from Eureka Springs, announced her intention to run for the House District 97 seat, currently held by Republican Harlan Breaux.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.